Seven Rye Country Day School seniors have been named Semifinalists in this year’s National Merit Scholarship Competition. These students scored in the top 1 percent nationally on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship qualifying test, taken each year by about 1.6 million high school students.

Congratulations to (pictured from left): <<Diogo Schaffa, Zachary Spilo, Clayton Bass, Jenna Cohn, Jason Sheppard, David Jensen>>, and <<Kyle Christophe.>>

Five Rye High School seniors were named National Merit Scholar Semifinalists. The students will receive Rye Recognition of Excellence awards at a Board of Education meeting in October.

Congratulations to (from left): Pablo Mazuera, Gillian Leung, Esther Yu, Nora Murphy, and Edward Collins, pictured with RHS Principal Patricia Taylor.

Rye Neck High School seniors <<Olivia Dunne, Allie Liebmann, John Masciopinto>>, and <<Bennett Taylor,>> have qualified as Semifinalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship competition.

They are among approximately 16,000 high school students nationwide who were awarded the distinction. They represent the top 1 percent of students from across the country with the highest scores on the qualifying Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

“Being recognized as a National Merit semifinalist is a tremendous honor reserved for the top performers nationwide,” noted Rye Neck High School Principal Tina Wilson. “We congratulate Olivia, Allie, John, and Bennett and wish them luck as they continue in the process.”

National Merit Scholarship finalists will be announced in February, and scholarship winners will be announced in the spring.



Seniors Allie Liebmann, Olivia Dunne, John Masciopinto, and Bennett Taylor, flanked by Guidance Department members and counselors, from left, Corinne Ryan, Frank Gizzo, and Sue Hannon, and Amanda Mahncke and Dr. Valerie Feit, at right.