Judge Joseph Latwin

At the Annual Meeting of the New York State Association of City Court Judges held in Skaneateles, N.Y. on September 26, the Association unanimously elected the <<Hon. Joseph Latwin>> as its President-Elect. The Association is composed of approximately 171 City Court Judges from the 62 City Courts outside of the City of New York.


Ingraham Taylor

The Port Chester/Rye NAACP is honoring <<Ingraham Taylor>> at its 9th Annual Robert S. Brown/M. Paul Redd Freedom Fund Luncheon on October 14 from 12-4 at the Copacabana Restaurant in Port Chester.

Founder and president of Hope LLC (Helping Others Prepare for Excellence), Mrs. Taylor is being recognized for her leadership role as chair of Westchester NAACP-ACT-SO (Academic, Cultural, Technical, and Scientific Olympics), which aims to strengthen the skills of and opportunities for underserved minority high school students.

The Freedom Fund Award is named in honor of Robert Brown, one of the founders of the Port Chester Carver Center, and Paul Redd, who was instrumental in establishing the Black Democrats of Westchester and started a pre-apprenticeship training program for minorities in White Plains. Both men were longtime members of the NAACP.

For reservations, call Doris Reavis at 937-6613.